CBSPAN Awards 2010-2014

December 2014

 KUDOS to Kathy Young, Medstar Franklin Square Medical Center Daisy Award winner!!!

December 4, 2014

Mary Michaels, Director of Professional Development for Medstar Health,  Cathy Young, member of Baltimore District,CBSPAN and winner of the Daisy Award; Dr. Joan Warren, Director of Nursing Research and Professional Development at MFSMC.  Cathy was nominated by one of the Phase 1 PACU staff, a physician that was present when she jumped into action and performed CPR, by her husband who was present at the same community event where Cathy acted quickly to follow CPR/ACLS protocols to save a man’s life.  He has since had quadruple bypass surgery and is doing very well.

Well done, Cathy!!!



CONGRATULATIONS to our past CBSPAN and ASPAN Presidents

from Baltimore District

Dina Krenzischek, PhD, MSN, RN, CPAN


Myrna Mamaril, MS, RN, CPAN, CAPA, FAAN

for receiving the

ASPAN Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) Scholarship Grant. 


October 2014

Congratulations to CBSPAN’s 2014-2015 Excellence in Clinical Practice Award Winner!

Lynnae Elliotte, MSN, RN, CPAN

from DC District

Lynnae and NikkiNikki Price, CBSPAN President with Lynnae Elliotte, Clinical Practice Award Winner


September 2014

Kudos to Graze Bautista, BSN, RN, CPAN, CAPA

from Baltimore District

for receiving an

Item Writer of the Year Award from ABPANC! 

Well done, Graze!

Graze Bautista-Award of Excellence-ABPANC



April 2014

Congratulations to Bea Hazzard, MS, RN, CPAN

Baltimore District

for receiving the Mary Hanna Journalism First Place Award in the Research Category of the Journal of PeriAnesthesia Nursing!




April 2014

The following members of CBSPAN presented posters at the ASPAN National Conference in Las Vegas:

Marie Graze Bautista, Tracy Edwards, Marie Evans, Pamela Luz Guarin, Hope Herd, Dina Krenzischek, Mary Joy Lazo, Myrna Mamaril, Bonnie Shoppe, and Robert Strain.




February 2014

Winner of the first CBSPAN President’s Award

Connie Gull, MPP, BSN, RN, FCN

from Baltimore District

CGull 9.4.2012

Editor of CBSPANNER, webmaster for



October 2013


from DC District

Joanne Kulesh, MSN, RN, CPAN

Shady Grove Hospital

Joanne Kulesh and Patricia Bodine




April 2013

Presentation at ASPAN National Conference in Chicago, Ill.

Dee Delaney, BSN, RN, CPN, NCIV is a member of Eastern Shore District, CBSPAN!!  Congratulations!!!

Oral and Poster
Primary Investigators:  Dee Delaney, BSN, RN, CPN, NCIV; Pat Olszewsky, MSN, CRNP; Jean Gallagher, MSN, CRNP; Elizabeth W. Bayley, PhD, RN; Laurie Duckworth, PhD, APRN; Kaye Labman, MSN, RN, Nemours/Al DuPont Hospital for Children, Wilmington, DE


January 2010

Kudos to Linda “Diz” Brosmer, a PACU nurse who works at Christiana Surgicenter and Glasgow Surgery Center, both in Newark, DE, for traveling to Haiti on a mission trip!!

In response to the devastation of an earthquake in Haiti in January, 2010, nurses and physicians from the USA provided primary care in the rural mountain areas to the Haitians who were cut off from access to medical care due to destruction of roads and bridges. The temporary field hospital shown was built in Leogane, Haiti and many of the emergency surgeries immediately post-quake were performed here. One year later, with the local hospitals in Leogane re-building, an operating room was functioning–including the one bed PACU complete with an IV pole. The PACU nurse had a stethoscope, blood pressure cuff and her critical thinking to recover the patients!

I traveled in 2010 and 2011 to Leogane, Haiti with medical teams sponsored by the University of Notre Dame. Notre Dame has had research and medical teams in Haiti for over 20 years working with global health organizations in solving the problems of tropical diseases.

Haiti 4
Haiti 2
Haiti 3
Haiti 1

Oct 12-14, 2012

Chris Skinner

Chris Skinner, MSN, RN, CAPA, member of Eastern Shore District, CBSPAN, raised $2370.00 to participate in the Susan G. Komen 3-Day event in Washington, DC on October 12th to the 14th, 2012. CBSPAN donated $300.00 on her behalf, and other members personally donated. Chris was diagnosed with breast cancer in 2003, underwent a lumpectomy and 6 weeks of radiation therapy, along with oral agents, and is cancer-free. Here is a photo of Chris in Washington DC, wearing a CBSPAN t-shirt during the walk.


Congratulations to CBSPAN member Denise White for receiving her BSN from Stevenson University!!!

Congratulations to Sandy Markowitz from Suburban Hospital for being nominated for the Excellence in Practice Award!!

Congratulations to CBSPAN for winning the Component Newsletter contest for 1-8 pages at the ASPAN National Conference in Orlando!  This included a cash award!!!

Kudos to CBSPAN for winning a Shining Star Award at the CPAN/CAPA Luncheon at the ASPAN National Conference in Orlando!!

Congratulations to CBSPAN for having the most walkers on Sunday am for the Dream Walk at the ASPAN National Conference in Orlando–we tied with California!

Congratulations to Susan Dorsey for winning the inaugural “Recruiter of the Year” award!

She recruited 6 new members in 2011 for ASPAN/CBSPAN. Lynnae Elliotte placed second with recruitment of 5 new members!

Congratulations to Chris Skinner, Past President, Eastern Shore District

She recently completed a Masters of Science in Nursing with a focus in Community Health Promotion at Wesley College, Dover, DE.  Great job!!

Congratulations to Beatrice Hazzard, President, Baltimore District.

She recently received from the University of Maryland, an MS in Health Care Leadership with a focus on Management. We are very proud of you!!

Congratulations to Mercy Medical Center for attaining Magnet Status recently!

Cynthia Voith, MSN, RN was recently recognized by Mercy Medical Center, receiving their Nurse Visionary Award. Congratulations!

Updated 7.13.2015